top of page
Search
  • jewell11

Freelance work (improving my practice)

Updated: May 23, 2019

Paris Chesire Dance Company

I was contacted by Paris Cherise Dance Company which is based in Bradford. Offering children aged 3-16 dance training in various styles. I was recommend through a friend to create a poster for an upcoming summer camp and a couple of flyers indicating training hours. Both were short briefs set by my client and myself after coming to a mutual understanding on what the designs are to communicate. My client and I kept in contact through facebook messenger, regularly exchanging progress and feedback so I was able to create exactly what they were looking for, resulting in positive feedback, all designs used on social media (Facebook, Instagram) and credit to myself from my client helping to get my name recognised within the design field.

Summer Camp Poster Design

The client was pleased with the final design, after receiving  positive feedback it was used on the companies social media pages..
The client was pleased with the final design.

The target age range is 4-13 y/o, so my client and I decided the most effective way to communicate to them is to make the poster fun, bright and child-like so it will look inviting to a young viewer. After setting the guidelines to the poster design, my client gave me the freedom to design anything I wanted to. I decided to create a variety of children characters advertising the event, so the viewers (children) feel they can relate to it. I used up the top half of the poster with the illustration which instantly draws attention to the viewer and draw them into the event, to then (with regards to hierarchal flow) the information below being read.



After receiving positive feedback it was used on the companies Facebook page, then shared by the owners personal Facebook page crediting myself.
Final Timetables Design(s)
Timetable for social media use.

My client contacted me to create a series of timetables for print and for use on social media. After discussing with my client exactly what they want I suggested a graphical timetable; the use of illustrations and colour rather than a traditional boring one. As there is a variety of styles being taught at by the company, I decided to create an illustration using existing real life images of a trainer and a ballet shoe and position them to replicate someone wearing them and performing in a ballet routine. I created this to show the diversity of the classes before the viewer has to read the information.

Timetable for print (fliers, posters) and social media use.

My client was pleased with both designs and the suggestion of using certain ones for a specific use to save on printing costs.


The designs were then published on the companies Facebook and Instagram accounts.

Design used on Instagram.

Design used as the header for companies Facebook page.

Overall I found these briefs enjoyable and very engaging. I feel my client and myself communicated very well and were both pleased with the end results. As this was my first time completing a brief from a live client I found it to be a great experience and has been an enormous boost for my confidence dealing with further clients and projects. I also feel grateful to be recognised and approached by clients.


Poster design for upcoming show; 'I BELIVE' a dance/scene from the film Honey which is set in New York.



Family Fun Day Poster



I was contacted by a friend who is involved with planning events at a busy hotel in Valley, Holyhead. She asked me if I was able to design her a poster for a family fun day event which I happily agreed to. I was given basic requirements with regards to the elements of the poster; a bouncy castle on a hill.


Being honest I found this a fairly easy task, I mocked up the original design and with the client being happy I cracked on and finished the design within a couple of hours and she was really happy with the final design. I feel I have increased my work speed rapidly and I think it's mainly down to constant practice within the softwares which has given me the ability to problem solve much faster whilst designing.


SoundCloud Banner

Again I was approached by a friend, who is into experimenting and creating dubstep, riddim and other similar styles. Personally I think he's sick (in a good way), I used to love that type of music so I was happy to be involved in created something for his music brand.




Company Logo

I was asked by the owner of a talented up and coming painting and decorating firm in Holyhead. He contacted me through Facebook messenger after I was recommended to him by someone back there. It's great to have my name circulating throughout my hometown with my design work. The requirements where that he wanted it to be colourful and showcase a paintbrush.


Mock ups

I mocked up a selection of logos for the client to choose from. He was impressed by them all but preferred the house I created as a variation to a paintbrush, so we decided to move forward. After discussing this project with a fellow student, he advised me in future to cut down the mock ups to 3 max, for reasons being it makes less work for myself and gives the client a shorter option to not play around as much. I'll take that on board next time but on this occasion I didn't really mind I enjoy illustrating.


Final Logo

I decided to move the decorating from beside the main text to under it. Overall the client was happy and its currently used on social media pages. hopefully on the side of a van or 2 in the future.


MMA (Mixed Martial Arts) Event Poster

I was asked by a friend to design a poster to advertise an upcoming event for a mixed martial arts event in Preston on 23rd March. I was more than happy to do so as James is a friend of mine and I was attending myself. I was sent over images of previous James' fights and collated them into a design with him being the main element. I will write a post about the event as part of my critical analysis as the event with have sufficient amount of graphic design elements, especially motion graphics.

The client was more than happy with the poster and it was shared across multiple social media profiles which required a lot of people to view my design, a few positive comments on the design is nice to see and has boosted my confidence massively.



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page