top of page
Search
  • jewell11

Reflective overview

Throughout my time during the final year of my time in university I have grown massively as a designer and gown an immense amount of confidence. Since the start of the final year I have been required to dive deep into projects and complete them in various time frames; at the time being frustrating but mimicking industry pace and help setting the tone for after I graduate. The first project I worked on was the 5 week collective, I felt I blew off some dust on and created some interesting designs but did not revive good grades at all back to my frustration. I didn't let that knock my confidence as I sat down with the lecturer took criticism on the chin and cracked on and applied the corrections to my process. Doing that definitely helped me improve my performance in my next project.


As it was a team project it was a good opportunity to collaborate with students on a very exciting project; Business Design Management, where we created an organic food delivery service called Doorganic. I worked alongside a variety of different personalities which at times proved difficult but acting in a professional manner communicating effectively aided the project fantastically. I gained the experience of creating a branding a business completely from scratch, pitching the idea to a panel of professionals, taking in their initial feedback to the content and applying it to the final pitch. For the pitch we rehearsed a powerpoint presentation and a presentation of products we created in a professional manner. This particular project was a favourite to work one as it shown throughout the time I am able to improve and adapt to any project.


Using the experience from the previous project I applied the same attitude to my live brief; which was collaborating with students and the head of department, this was a brilliant project to really apply myself within a professional establishment; University of Chester. Creating animations for each of these projects has improved my confidence and it pushes me to try and create an animation for any possible brief.


The most useful experience throughout my final year was my interview with Richard Pay from Uniform. Now I received my results I got what I feared as I didn't connect and flow between all my work, but the feedback I received is the most import so far because I feel if I listen to the tweaks and changes and construct a solid back story to my work, it will conincide with my design ability and hopefully aid me in being a success in the design industry. Overall, this year has really helped to shape me a designer and has paved the path I want to take.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page