top of page
Search
  • jewell11

Collected Works -Sharpening my tools!

Updated: May 22, 2019

As my work in very illustrative based I want to blog my designs so I can track and showcase my improvement.


A collection of works based on a Summer Collection that show playful exploration and experimentation, comprising of: 5 x Weekly Briefs

The topic I decided to focus on collecting materials for was album art, mainly hip-hop. I chose this topic to challenge myself to create original solutions to set breifs using existing designs. Throughout the projects I also used online images of certain albums I was unable to physically collect.

Week 1: Type

I was tasked to create a visual alphabet of 26 characters. As my collection consists of albums and vinyl’s I decided to create the alphabet by redesigning a series of iconic existing albums (within their genre) in alphabetical order i.e. A = Abbey Road, B = Bad. The design is an exploration using a variety of styles to illustrate each album cover. Every album cover has a coloured border to help communicate each individual design and where the inspiration came from.

Week 2: Motion

I was required to make something that ‘moves’ either physically or emotionally. Using my collection as inspiration I decided to create a promotional advertisement for 2 albums by an existing artist; Eminem. Within the video I have manipulated and ‘moved’ elements from the original designs to bring the albums to life i.e. Curtains opening and closing, whilst they are being promoted.

Week 3: Play

I was required to devise a playful engagement for one of more people. I decided to pick 1 iconic album cover design to turn into an engagement and created a series of cartoon heads in various forms and poses to place around the cover i.e. Placing the zombie head over the original for a Halloween theme. The idea is to take an iconic cover and to create an additional ‘fun’ element to it which relates to the idea of play, and to give the user the freedom to redesign it.

Week 4: Combine

I was required to explore a considered purpose that combines two individuals’ collections. Thomas Katryniak and I decided to team up on this task as we felt that our collections had the potential to create a solid solution. As my collection is related to music and Tom’s collection was related to travel, we decided to create a concept for a rave on the Interrail. I created a poster that can be placed in various forms and locations to advertise the concept and the route it will take. The design mainly consists of ‘trippy’ and psychedelic illustrations depicting landmarks and attractions in each city. The idea to create the illustrations in this particular style is to appeal to ‘ravers’ as psychedelics are commonly associated with music festivals and events.

Week 5: Show

I was required to showcase my project solutions and an indication of how I would exhibit them. As my collection is based on music, I will showcase my solutions as a Platinum Award format as it is a prestigious award within music, which I want my solutions to be depicted as. The 3 concepts on play, type and combine will be below the animation, which will be projected onto the disc and played on a loop alongside my collection placed around the frame.


Overall I was happy with the final designs for each brief, as they were only a week long I feel that it was good practice to work at an industry pace over the course of 5 weeks.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page